The media is increasing interest in famous people who have ordinary backgrounds. Why do you think people are interested in the lives of famous people? Do you think this is a good thing?

Today, we often watch the news about the scandals of celebrities or private life of famous people. In my country, it is not unusual that almost all the time of news is devoted to reporting the scandalous affairs of a famous actor or actress. Given this, we face a question; “why are people so interested in the lives of celebrities?” In addition, we would have to consider whether this curiosity should be satisfied or not. In the following parts, I would like to argue about the abovementioned issues in detail.

First of all, I would guess a hazard that we are, in general, likely to be interested in what is different from ourselves. Suppose that one of your friends bought a brand-new smartphone and he or she showed it to you. Because it is totally different from the one you have, you must be interested in it and you will search for the information about the smartphone after you go back to your home. The same thing can be applied to the media coverage of famous people. Because famous people are or seem to be “different” from us in many facets, it is quite natural for us to be interested in their lives.

Second, the reason why we are curious about famous people is that we do want to believe that there does NOT exist a “perfect man”. Because the celebrities on television look really nice and sometimes TV shows emphasize the good part of them, we would be induced to find out any “bad aspect” of them. Therefore, the media often interfere with the private life of famous people and struggle to find out a scandal.

Although I sometimes want to know some unexpected aspect of celebrities, I strongly believe that invading the private life of famous people is not a good idea and it should not be encouraged. We should not forget that celebrities are also “ordinary” people once they are out of the television. Therefore, we should be vicarious and be careful not to invade their privacy.