In today’s society, media are likely to report the news on celebrities and they often focus on the wealth or glamour of these celebrities. Given this, some people think that these types of news might cause a bad effect on young people. They would say that they can provide the wrong motivation to children if they ignore what the celebrities achieve to obtain their wealth or attraction. However, in my opinion, the bad effects due to these types of media coverage are limited and the overall advantages can outweigh the disadvantages that the opponents insist. In the following analysis, I would like to provide some evidence to support my position.

In the first place, the dream to be richer or more attractive is quite strong motivation for children to make efforts. While this types of dreams tend to be regarded as “ill-motivated”, some psychological researches implemented in Japan have shown that the test score of people who are promised to be given 10,000 JPY if they achieve their goal was significantly higher than the people without any monetary incentives. Considering this fact, we should be aware that the monetary incentive is one of the most powerful driving force to make people unleash their potential. Therefore, if celebrities become more famous for their wealth or glamour, it can induce significant efforts among young people.

Admittedly, we should not forget that all the celebrities made efforts and achieve their goals to get current position in society. It should be a problem if the media make children think that these celebrities can earn a lot of money without any effort. In this regard, I strongly believe that how to report these celebrities is really crucial. However, as long as the way of media coverage is well thought, the bad effects should be ignorable.

In a nutshell. while some people insist that celebrities should be famous for their achievement and not for their wealth, I strongly believe that this does not always have a negative impact on the children. We should notify the importance of “practical” incentives.