To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Nowadays, due to the population boom, many individuals think that consuming edible insects is an effective way to satisfy the demands for food of humans. Although, there are some advantages of eating insects, I would opine that the drawbacks this trend brings about outweighs the benefits.

On the one hand, eating insects has some benefits. The first one stems from the need for food because crops cannot supply enough food for humans. For instance, in many African regions, due to the shortage of crops, many local inhabitants have to catch insects like cockroaches, crickets or grasshoppers to survive. If they did not use insects as a food resource, they would suffer from starvation . The second advantage is that many species of insects contain a huge amount of nutrition and minerals. To illustrate, the amount of protein per one kilogram of cockroach is much higher compared to that of pork.

On the other hand, there are some unfavorable impacts of considering insects as a food resource. Firstly, because some types of insects prefer to live in dirty environment, consuming these insects can be detrimental to the health of consumers. For example, if a person eats too much cockroach living in some dirty places, he can contract with many serious illnesses like stomach cancer. Moreover, if more insects are harvested to be fed up humans, the food chains of many animals relying on insects can be lost. Therefore, these animals can face with starvation. Then the fauna of the ecosystem will be influenecd negatively.

In conclusion, while it is believed that eating insects can be a suitable method to deal with food problems, this trend can put a great number of negative influences to not only the environment but also humans.