To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Nowadays, due to the increasing numbers of population, countries should extend their food source to meet the growing need for food such as edible insects. However, some people find that insects based product are not healthy as well as eating them will affect life circle. In my opinion, while this will lead to a diversity in food sources and prices of food will be cheaper, eating such products will destroy the environment and may causes illness.

On the one hand, making use of edible insects would result in a diverse food menu to prevent famine in many countries suffering from high population. For example, China had suffered from a famine due to the lack of food untill they started to have insects products. Moreover, more different sources of food make the prices less expensive. For instance, if the market has only two types of meats, those will be more expensive than when it has four sorts.

On the other hand, even though there are pros for edible insects as a source for food, there are also cons. Firstly, environment is consists of many organism which if there is any deficincy in one of them, this would negatively disturb the balance of the nature. Another thing might consider as a drawback is that a lot of insects are unhealthy and a major reason of spreading diseases. For example, Covid-19 was first found in the animal then it has transmitted to the humans.

In conclusion, since the number of people living on earth is increasing, the need for food is increasing too. A country should provide edible insects as a food source. Some people believe that eating insects will be a good way to have a variety of food and decrease the expense of food, while other think that insects would harm the life-circle despite that they are a considerable reason of diseases.