Mobile phones and the Internet are very useful for old people. However, this section of population is the fewer users of mobile phones and the Internet. In what ways can mobile phones and the Internet be useful to the old people? How can the old people be encouraged to use this new technology?

Although advanced technologies such as cellphones and the Internet, it is observed that few the elderly use them. There are several benefits of using cellphones and the Internet and some effective methods should be taken to encourage the old to apply these technologies.

To begin with, it is undeniable that cellphones and the Internet bring significant advantages for the elderly. Firstly, it is the easiest ways for them to keep contact with their children or friend by making calls. Smart phones server calls, video calls and connect the Internet while the Internet supports several free communicating ways for people to contact directly such as facebook, vibe, skype. Therefore, the elderly are probably to meet their friends and children almost time they want by using these application. As a result, old people do not feel lonely anymore. Secondly, old people often weak, being likely to go out as adults, so they may access alot of information for entertainment and online shopping. For example, they might order food, clothes and transfer money through the Internet. They also read online books without going library or they can watch extremely interesting movies.

However, there are several efficient remedies to promote the elderly to use these technologies. Owing to their age, it is a bit difficult for them to approach new technologies. Thus, their children should teach them how to use, showing them clear benefits of the technologies which will attract them to use. In addition, senior citizens usually have weak eyesight, so they should buy cell phones, computers or other devices which have big keyboards and screens to see easily. When understanding and using clearly, I believe that senior citizens may spend much time on them.

In conclusion, although approaching new technologies is difficult for the elderly, there are some advantages for using them. It is also responsible for families’ members to motivate and support to take benefits for old generation.