Mobile phones and the Internet have made it easier to stay in contact with other people. However, as a lot of time is spent using telephones and computers, there is less face-to-face contact and direct communication.

Is the growing use of communications technology a positive or a negative development for society?

In this technological boom time, mobile phones and Internet have driven the main of our lives as well as communication. Along with that, the pervasion of mobile phones and Internet sparkled controversy among a lot of people whether it is positive or negative development.

There is no disputing the fact that communication technology has brought us an abundance of benefits. First and foremost, It has facilitated our communication process as people can keep in touch with each other regardless of long distance. In addition to that, Internet has made great contribution to helping others make friends. There is staggering figure of married couples meeting via Internet.

Furthermore, these modern equipments provide us a golden opportunity to get access to new things. Thanks to the invention of Internet, people can absorb in a myriad of information as well as get exposed to different perspectives, new ideas, not to mention but a few.

Hence, it cannot be denied some drawbacks that communication technology has brought to us. A lot of heavy phone users are found being prone to lacking interpersonal skills since they get so addicted to technology that rarely spare time to meet up others. Moreover, they are vulnerable to be invaded privacy or stolen identity via Internet.

For all intents and purposes, modern equipment has both advantages and disadvantages. However, it will be a card up in our sleeves if we know how to use it properly