some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The 21st century saw the breakthrough in the improvement of education with manifold ideas to develop the children at their best. Still, the idea that unpaid community service is under consideration to be a mandatory subject of high school curriculum remains constant debate among people. In my opinion, this idea should be repelled.

There is no disputing the fact that doing community service does good to students. It will open up a great opportunity for students to get exposed to the real world, teach them invaluable lessons that schools cannot do. Also, these community works will aid students with interpersonal skills, which plays an indispensable role in their life in the future. Furthermore, doing community service will probably encourage student's instilling patriotism as well as foster children to make great contributions to our country.

On the other hand, unpaid community service should not be regarded as a compulsory part in high school. The first reason is that community service is voluntary work, which means schools do not have right to force students to serve the community if they do not want to. In addition to that, forcing students to serve community free of charge could be considered as children labour exploitation because these services require a lot of arduous work. Apart from that, we should not forget the main duty of students, which is to concentrate on their study. Doing community service is very time - consuming. Therefore, Students will no longer have time to study and develop themselves if they are reluctant to doing community service. This would instill their hatred for making contributions to the community.

For all intents and purposes, letting children to permeate into the world via serving community is a good idea but forcing them to do that free of charge will counteract the benefits of serving the community.