Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

Children nowadays are experiencing illnesses that are commonly seen on adults, such as obesity. The main cause of this problem is the sedentary lifestyle that children have and the most viable solution is to include sports and exercise as part of schools' curriculum.

The primary reason of this predicament is the sedentary way of living which is commonly practised by almost all children. This is to say that they spent their free time indoors sitting infront of their screens for along period of time. They are so engrossed watching movies, browsing the Internet or playing online games. These activities do not allow them to burn fats rather it promotes weight gain more than their ideal body mass index. For instance, recent research done by the World Health Organization revealed that 65% of children who are suffering from obesity and who are unfit are those who stay indoors and engaged to sedentary recreational activities.

To tackle this problem schools should make sports and exercise as one of the subjects that children must have during the school year. This could motivate children to do such activities because they know that it is part of their curriculum. Children will also likely to teach their family members what they learn in school and as a result adults will be influenced to become physically active. For example, in Japan school children are doing 30 minutes of exercise, such as walking and dancing every morning as part of the schools' program. This initiative resulted Japan to have the highest proportion of healthy younger generation.

In conclusion, nowadays children are suffering obesity which is considered to be as an adult disease and this is due to lack of physical activities, however, this could be addressed by incorporating sports and exercise as part of the schools' program.