Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give the reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern world, electronic messaging and emailing have grown significantly, and it also has changed our lives. However, this opinion is not correct at all. In some ways, they are better. In the past, people usually communicated by meeting each other or phoned and letter. If they wanted to meet, they had to have the right time, so both could see each other. Although some people were busy, they did not see their friends for months. As a result, their relationships were broken. In today's modern society, chatting has been more popular. We can text each other by using only the phones without leaving our rooms. As a consequence, our connections are much closer. For instance, I can use only my computer every day to chat with friends all around the world. I know how they are, where they live, what they like. In the past, people could not do that, because it was not possible. In my view of this, this cannot argue that electronic messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing others. In my experience, chatting online has increased the number of people who meet in real life. It has become easier to have some conversations with friends outside. In summary, I disagree with this statement in the question and believe that modern communication has greatly improved our social lives.