Families who send their children to private schools should not be
required to pay taxes that support the state education system.
To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?
Some people believe that parents of children who attend private schools
should not need to contribute to state schools through taxes. Personally,
I completely disagree with this view.
For a variety of reasons, it would be wrong to reduce taxes for families
who pay for private education. Firstly, it would be difficult to calculate the
correct amount of tax reduction for these families, and staff would be
required to manage this complex process. Secondly, we all pay a certain
amount of tax for public services that we may not use. For example, most
people are fortunate enough not to have to call the police or fire brigade
at any time in their lives, but they would not expect a tax reduction for
this. Finally, if wealthy families were given a tax discount for sending their
children to private schools, we might have a situation where poorer
people pay higher taxes than the rich.
In my opinion, we should all be happy to pay our share of the money that
supports public schools. It is beneficial for all members of society to have
a high quality education system with equal opportunities for all young
people. This will result in a well-educated workforce, and in turn a more
productive and prosperous nation. Parents of children in private schools
may also see the advantages of this in their own lives. For example, a
company owner will need well qualified and competent staff, and a well-
funded education system can provide such employees.
In conclusion, I do not believe that any financial concessions should be
made for people who choose private education.