modern lifestyles have changed considerably over the past five decades. however, some aspects of life have remained constant. Compare and contrast life in Vietnam now and fifty years ago

There are a variety of different perspectives on the question of how Vietnamese lifestyles now and in the last fifty-year changed. Although many people feel that life has changed completely, others can easily find out things still unchanged over the years. This essay will examine both sides of this argument and provide an overall opinion.

Fundamentally, there is a wide range of differences between life in the two periods of time in Vietnam. Perhaps the main contrast between them is that family structures have changed from extended families into nuclear families. Unlike in the past, young people today tend to have their own life by living apart from their parents or relatives. For instance, most students move to metropolis cities to get a better education and seek a better opportunity for a career. Another aspect which illustrates the differences between life in the two periods of time in Vietnam is the role of family’s members. To be more specific,in the past, the breadwinner in the traditional family mainly is the father and the mother who stay at home and handle household chores and take care of their children whereas women nowadays can perform better on making a living in comparison with those in the past.

While Vietnamese life in 1971 and now may have changed a lot, there are still numerous things that have been maintained amongs Vietnamese people. First of all, the unity and patriotic tradition of the residents has never changed throughout time. A good illustration of this is that although people do not have to face wars and fight for their national sovereignty nowadays, they always look to their homeland no matter where they live and work. For example, whenever there is a natural disaster in my country, Vietnamese people always try to share the difficulties with their countrymen. Secondly, the huge love for traditional costumes such as Ao dai. In fact, in modern life, although there are a massive number of popular outfit styles from other cultures such as the US, China or Korea that are dressed by Vietnamese people, people still chose Ao dai in their important days or events.

In conclusion, it must be said that this topic has generated some discussion recently. Weighing up all of the facts, it would seem that the most substantial similarities between life in Vietnam now and fifty years ago is inhabitants’ spiritual life.