fast food is becoming more and more popular. why and effects?

In recent times, fast food restaurants are becoming popular in a lot of countries all over the world. This tendency causes several influences on human health that people have to deal with. This essay will discuss the reasons and problems associated with this phenomenon, and offer a possible measure to address this issue.

It is easy to see that the effects on a great number of people who consume fast food are quite serious. First of all, people can run a higher risk of contracting cardiovascular disease. To be specific, fast food contains calories such as sodium and unhealthy fat, which leads to increased obesity, diabetes and hyperlipidaemia risk and the high salt content raising blood pressure. Furthermore, the lack of food safety and hygiene and the low nutritional content are also very common issues in fast food. If people choose to eat junk food, they obviously do not know what exact ingredients were used to make the food and how safe they are. Fast food also tends to be low in nutrients and almost totally lacking in fruit, vegetables, and fiber.

Although there are a lot of negative effects, fast food is still more and more popular nowadays. In my opinion, there are two main reasons for this issue. Firstly, most junk foods are cheap and tasty. Fast food menus are always varied, and the food is eye-catching and easy to satisfy most palates. And best of all, choosing fast food instead of self cooking is really convenient. Most working people choose fast food because they want to eat quickly and cheaply.

In conclusion, the popularity of fast-food restaurants is an issue which will continue to demand our attention for the foreseeable future. I believe that the best solution to tackle this is increasing public awareness about the harmful effects of industrially produced trans-fatty acids. If this measure is adopted, it will go a long way towards solving the problems caused by high fast-food consumption.