In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is widely acknowledge that many products made from animals like food or clothes can be replaced by other modern version. Based on that trend, even though some people say we no longer need to depend on animals to satisfy our lives, I would argue that we still need animal products to some extent, especially in doing research about medicine.

For clothes, animals used to be the major sources of materials to produce our outfit. Hundreds of thousands of years ago, humans knew how to use the skins from big animals like bears or tigers to cover their body to survive during winters. Even in modern time, during twentieth century, rich people and celebrities in many western countries still held the belief of the necessity of using animals that way for making our outfits. Only for last few decades, this has been strongly opposed by many environmentalists, activists, wildlife conservationists, and then politicians and governments because of the immorality of sacrificing animals just to make what people wear and the growing supports for the necessity of natural conservations. Moreover, thanks to the development of science and technology, authentic materials have been discovered and industrially made for the specific purposes of making clothes with many advantages like various colors, cheaper prices and especially no requiring killing animals. Therefore, we now and never will need animals to satisfy our wearing demands.

In case of food, animals are still the sources of what we eat to some extent. Livestock have provided meat for humans since the agricultural revolutions thousands of years ago, and nowadays are still doing that work in most of countries around the world. People have depended on meat and fish for very long time; hence it would be difficult to change people behaviors, and the husbandry will remain significant in our modern economy. Until very recently, artificial meats have been invented with the specific benefit of not depending on raising animals, and therefore are believed to be very promising to replace beef and fork in the coming years. However, more tests and trials need to be done to guarantee whether general public would accept that new types of meats since they still can feel the slight difference between the animal-based version and the lab-growing one in terms of taste. In short, the dependence of food on animals is still significant but there are clear evidence to say that it will not last for long.

Turning to medicine, animals are crucial more than ever. For last 100 years, more diseases have been discovered, along with more medicine having been created to save human lives. Even now, pharmaceutical research and experiments are being conducted worldwide to fight against cancers, cardiovascular diseases and many others. To satisfy the demands of saving patients, drugs need to be tested before being produced at industrial scales and scientists are still using animals like mouse to check the effectiveness of the new medicine in real organism. That is, unfortunately, still the only visible way to make sure the safety of the drug and there is still no other option equally feasible. As a result, modern humans still need animals to make medicine to protect ourselves.

In conclusion, although we have been successful at stopping killing animals for cloths, there is still a long way to do the same thing in case of food, and I still do not see any scenario in which medicine could be developed without using animals in foreseeable future.