In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work, and communicate with people via the Internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a positive or negative development?

Due to the breakthrough development of the Internet and technology in the present-day world, people can easily do anything online, from shopping, studying, working to meeting with people. While many people support this form of communication, others, including me, partially believe that every development has two sides.

On the one hand, since online interaction is fast and free, it offers people extremely convenient services. Specifically, people now can access all kinds of websites with one click, satisfying their desire to work or communicate with other people. Also, connecting with people via the Internet would considerably expand their networking as they can meet new friends from all over the world much simpler than ever before. Besides, online meetings offer people chances to keep in touch with their family and friends when they are away from home, for instance, studying abroad. Moreover, in some special cases, in which face-to-face interaction is impossible, like in the Covid-19 pandemic, the Internet plays a crucial role, allowing people to continue their work and study in isolated time.

On the other hand, a number of people argue that if one spends too much time interacting with people via online platforms, they will soon have several problems with their communication skills. In this case, they may easily lose attention to their real relationships and even underrated face-to-face meetings - a prominent way of enhancing the connection between people. Also, many people have some problems when it comes to real interactions, like feeling scared of talking to people in person. For example, many surveys have found that children find it difficult to make friends when coming back to school after the Covid-19 is under control. Furthermore, humans can become more inactive. As online services offer them a convenient way to interact with the world, people may lose interest in going out and having real conversations, which has negative effects on their relationships and their physical health.

In conclusion, although online interaction has contributed many benefits to humans’ life, people have to use it wisely and take control of their online work.