MORE AND MORE CHILDREN IN DEVELOPED COUNTRIES ARE BECOMING OVERWEIGHT. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM IN WEALTHY COUNTRIES.

CAUSES AND EFFECTS OF THIS TREND?

These days, there is a fact that overweight children have been increasingly common in developed countries. In general, this situation may be caused by several key factors and lead to potential impacts on children’s life.

There are primary reasons why an increasing number of children in wealthy countries are becoming obese. One of the most concerning ones is that children tend to establish fatty dietary habits. Children are likely to overdose fast food simply because they are tempted by a wide selection of dishes as well as their flavours. However, children are considered less knowledgeable about nutrition; therefore, it seems that they are unable to realise that fast food contains high levels of fats and calories which causes uncontrolled weight gain. Another reason of obesity is that children have a tendency to lead a sedentary lifestyle. Technologies have changed the way children spend their leisure time since they have a preference for playing online games or surfing social networking sites rather than participating in physical exercise to maintain normal and healthy weight.

Being obese will probably result in unavoidable effects on children later in life. Firstly, children may have to suffer from reduced physical well-being. According to medical studies, it is likely that overweight children will develop health problems, namely heart disease, diabetes or stroke even though they are at young age. In addition, psychological disorders should also be taken into consideration. If children have body image issues, they will be probably teased, bullied or even rejected by their peers at school. This may eventually increase the chance of depression, anxiety and poor self-esteem, and children gradually isolate themselves from surrounding people.

In conclusion, obesity among children is regarded as an alarming situation in different parts of the world, especially in developed nations due to unhealthy eating habits and inactive way of life. Also, we should take into account the matters of physical and mental health in order to help children control their body weight.