More and more companies are allowing employees to work from home. DO you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there is a growing trend that many employees are allowed to stay at home to work. Although this appears advantageous in the digital era like at the present, I believe that the drawbacks of distance working are far more significant.

There are several reasons why working from home is beneficial. First, as it is a form of social distancing, it can prevent the spread of contagious diseases and keep people safe. For example, the Coronavirus, which causes the Covid-19 pandemic all around the world, can be transmitted easily due to human interactions, so staying home for work may be one of the best precautions that stop the virus from diffusing. Second, working at home also save employees a great deal of time for preparation. Workers do not need to wake up early to hurry for buses or trains, or females do not need to spend time doing the makeup of they work in distance. As a result, employees can have more time for their jobs, which may lead to higher productivity.

However, I would argue that the trend will bring disadvantages in the long term. First, not meeting people for a long time can reduce the quality of interpersonal communication skills of workers. The lack of intimate face-to-face conversations among people in the company can lead to unexpected misunderstandings, which may have a negative impact on relationships among them. Second, working using digital devices connected with the Internet, such as laptops or phones, could cause a shortage of working motivation to people. This is because, without the supervision of bosses like working in the offices, workers may not be motivated and may easily fall into the temptation of the Internet with many interesting social networking sites like Facebook or Instagram and delay working.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of remote working are overshadowed by its drawbacks.