More and more countries are making university education completely free for their citizens. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the demand for knowledge acquisition, many nations' education policies have been changing to benefit the learners, one of which is the abolition of learning fee for their residents. This phenomenon raise the question whether it is a helpful development or the otherwise. This essay will elaborate some of the advantages and disadvantages may occur if this approach is enacted.

Some downsides of this trend is relating to teaching and learning qualities. As there is no instutition fee required for enrolling in university education, the question is how the salary for professionals and teachers come from. Some would espouse that government will be responsible for subsidizing funds to help teachers and alike to meet their ends. However, this will become a financial burden for some nations, especially those from developing countries, since there are some aspects of economic they need to take a higher prority. Moreover, university students would lose their motivation to continue their learning journey. When there is no monetary relation between students and their university, they may become ignorant of their study because they can reapply for their courses at any time given the free money-free their schools offering for their courses. Therefore, there is likelihood that both teachers and students will not dedicate themselves to their fullest potential, leading to the lacking of educational qualification.

On the other hands, there are some benefits that this scheme provides. First, more and more people will have an opportunity to attend higher education, especially when there is no cost required. Some people who are born in lower social class always long for accessing to education and thereby they will have no worry to attend university if the policy is enforced in their country. Consequently, this country is likely to train more talented skilled workers who can contribute greatly to its economic development in the near future. Not only is this a case, but there would be lower dropouts amidst school time due to financial issues. Second, students then can explore every field of their interest and untap their potential that was restrained by economical problems. As a result, they can find the aspect of study which capture their interest and focus to develop and obtain more advanced information about these subjects, leading to a great range of skillful workers who may probably endlessly do research and make achievements for their favored subjects.

In conclusion, this phenomenon of making university education completely cost-free has both disadvantages and advantages. However, I believe if this policy is enacted, a great number of people will benefit from higher education and thereby make worthy contributions for their nations in the future.