The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the demand for mobility has increased dramatically, traffic congestion is now considered to be an inevitable problem. Governments recently suggest that a definite chief aim to handle this is to offer complimentary 24-hour public transportation for fully seven days per week. I am completely on board with this solution.

Firstly, public transits have such a huge capacity that they allow more people to travel. It is vividly acknowledged that buses, subways, commuters trains, etc. have bigger dimensions than an individual car. Moreover, statistics have shown traveling by public transportation, a person can reduce his or her chance of being in an accident by more than 90%, compared to commuting by automobile. Hence, individuals who traversed by means of public transport would be safer, as well as give a helping hand in containing the quantities of vehicles being driven on the road.

Furthermore, that authority provides free public transportation means people from all different walks of life are allowed to use public transit without paying any fare. This can help them financially economize their expenditure, which they would be capable of adapting to a more satisfying life. Therefore, a complimentary public transporting system will be a reasonable way of traveling for all purposes. One, for example, would save up to a hundred dollars spending on vehicle-related expenses such as petrol, road taxes, etc.

In conclusion, if governments implemented this solution, traffic congestion would soon drop. People, however, need to take into consideration commuting by public transport, instead of traveling by individual vehicles in order to support the authority’s aim.