More and more measures to improve the security in large urban areas have been introduced in many countries because of the increased crime. Do the benefits of these measures outweigh the drawbacks?

Numerous metropolitan areas around the world have extensively implemented approaches to improve the safety of residents, which is being threatened by the elevated crime rate. In my opinion, the detrimental impacts of this strategy are more significant than the possible advantages it brings.

The first negative effect from this method is that it may weaken the national economy. Specifically, safety procedures necessitate the additional allocation of equipment as well as the involved labor force. This can lead to a growth in government expenditure, which is mostly generated by tax levies on citizens. For instance, an increase in the number of police patrols requires a greater budget for officer salaries, operational vehicles, and weapons.

Another adverse consequence of the improved level of security is the inconvenience for residents. Indeed, as the safety measures become more complicated, citizens must regularly comply with a wider range of regulations. For example, upon entering buildings, employees must form a queue to go through a scanning device to ensure that there are no illegal items brought into the premises. As a result, this could add extra time to accomplish everyday tasks for individuals.

Admittedly, there are still several advantageous outcomes emerging from this strategy, chief among which is the reduced level of crime. This is because the increased level of precautionary measures makes it more challenging for possible offenders to commit transgressions, thus deterring them from performing those acts. Ultimately, the number of crimes can be decreased in urban areas.

In conclusion, many large urban regions have increasingly imposed methods to raise the safety level for their residents. Personally, I believe that the possible downsides, including the heavier financial burden for governments and the inconvenience for citizens, prevail over the benefits such as reduced crime.