More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

It is true that looking for a job is the main reason for urban migration. Living in cities is not easy as it appears to be. In cities there is a variety of challenges that could face people. These challenges require governmental measures to be tackled.

The complicated life in cities has led to certain problems. Firstly, air pollution is the most critical one. People in cities suffer from heart and lung diseases because of the air pollutants. Carbon dioxide emission that comes from vehicles and factories is the main reason. Secondly, traffic jams are another problem. People could waste their time waiting in the rash hours, while returning home or going to work. Crowdedness in streets makes it difficult for children as well as the elderly to move. Thirdly, unemployment is another issue. People are increasing in number while the jobs do not. Moreover, automated machines replaced people. For example, many cars do not need drivers as they have a self-drive option. Cashiers are nowadays electronically-programmed without the need of humans. Lastly, crime rates are higher in cities, compared to villages. Shoplifters and pickpockets are very active in crowded places.

The difficulties mentioned above deserve some efforts from the authorities to solve. The air pollution needs some regulations to strict the production of the harmful gases from factories. Manufacture companies should be obliged to pay more tax to fix the environmental damage they did. The cost of the public transportation should be decreased to encourage people to leave their cars so the pollution and the traffic congestion could be less. The crowded places that attract people like shopping malls should be moved outside the cities. Governmental services should be computerized so that less number of people would visit their facilities. Admission criteria to schools and colleges should be simpler to accept higher number of applicants. Instead of being unemployed, people could get some training or degrees that qualify them for work. Lastly, criminals should be punished in a rehabilitative way. They should serve in the community or learn beneficial courses in prison.

In conclusion, urban life has many problems related to the many aspects; the environment, the job market and the safety, so measures should be taken by the government to resolve these complexities.