More and more people buy a wide range of household goods like
television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is positive
or negative development?
Over the past decades, the development of technology has never failed to draw
public attention and provoke debates. Although an overwhelming majority of
families have possessed more than one piece of electrical device with the proliferation
of high-tech products in every walk of life, the issue as to whether it does more good
than harm or not remains controversial. In my opinion, household goods, if
properly used, can bring you more benefits than drawbacks.
On the one hand, household goods have improved the quality of life. In fact, thanks
to the sophisticated design, doing domestic chores ceases to be a bother. For instance,
a vacuum cleaner can help make even the carpeted floor dustless and a micro-wave
oven can make cooking a manageable and enjoyable process. Similar advantages also
apply to washing machines, dish-washers, dryers, and refrigerators. Thus, the time and
energy saved allow people to work and rest better. This example indicates that the
more free time you save due to having appliances, the more other things you are capable
of doing at your will.
On the other hand, the opponents may argue that it can be a potential threat to the
health of family members and the environment as a whole. Those who are against
buying a wide range of household goods hold their views for reasons. Firstly, the
convenience brought about by the appliances also encourage owners to adopt sedentary
lifestyle and inactivity. For instance, they deprive users of the possibilities to consume
a huge number of calories at home, which, in a long run, is likely to undermine their
health. Secondly, electrical household goods usually get updated at a high rate due to
the ever-advancing technology, and the accompanying mass production will drive the
exploration of natural resources.
In conclusion, nowadays electrical appliances bring both boons and banes. If they
are used carefully and scrupulously, its advantages will eclipse its disadvantages.