More and more people claim that modern work patterns are a source of stress. What do you think are the causes of this? Can you suggest some possible solutions?

Nowadays a lot of people state that work patterns cause stress. It is apparent that a variety of reasons could lead to stress at the workplace but I would like to highlight two primary ones. Firstly, when conditions are not suitable for comfort work. Secondly, people cannot deal with huge amount of work. The possible solutions depend on employers. Organisations should provide everything needed for comfort being at work, also managerial should plan tasks more carefully.

A number of employees complain of horrible work conditions hindering them to work productively. By this I mean, that outdated office facilities, insufficient space for placing impact on productivity and mood of workers. For example, research on the satisfaction of employees provided by Human Resources Management at my work revealed that people’s demands about appliances in the office are high. Moreover, workers likely could have chosen another organisation if the facilities were poor. Solutions for this issue are providing employees with modern appliances and offices design in accordance with comfort.

The next possible source of stress is linked with overwhelming workload. It means that top management sets KPI that workers cannot achieve and the volume of tasks is extremely high. For instance, it is a well-known fact that in Russia and especially in Japan people often work extra hours and sometimes without weekends or vacations. To cope and prevent such serious sources of stress that lead to severe issues in people’s mental health it is needed to plan work more carefully and thoughtfully. In other words managers should distribute work among a team evenly, not to give a huge number of tasks for a short period. To exemplify, in Sweden and Germany it is strictly forbidden to work when a workday is over, all the staff follow this rule, and managers think beforehand how to plan job tasks.

In conclusion, two big problems causing stress at work are inconvenient conditions at the workplace and extremely high demands of efficiency and productivity from employees. Investment in office facilities as much as reducing tasks and work-life balance respect could mitigate stress.