More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause and the possible solutions? (revised)

Cars allow people to get around with ease. The sales of cars in developing countries have increased dramatically. Because it is commonly recognized that cars do contribute to the pollution of air, it became a customary practice to impose heavy taxes on car owners.

As far as I am concerned, a great numbers of cars do pollute the natural environment. The reason for this is that most cars are equipped with the internal combustion engines. While providing cars with a propelling momentum, such engines emit dangerous exhaust fumes into the atmosphere. For instance, research from University of Shanghai in 2014 shows that 90% middle-age people who live in Shanghai, China are no longer in the position to inhale unpolluted air. Since almost all people go to work by car, the air quality gradually declines over time. Therefore, it is agreed that some kind of solution needs to be found to tackle the issue.

One of the possible solutions is to increase taxes on owning cars. Such solution will make people avoid purchasing new cars. For example, research from Nanyang Technological University in 2005 shows that there is about 80% decrease in purchasing new cars in Singapore. The research involved middle-class citizen who have middle-level income This is the direct consequence of the Singaporean government's decision to impose more taxes on car owners. So, Imposing heavy taxes on car owners is excellent solution to overcome the problem.

In conclusion, purchasing automobile in developing countries is becoming increasingly popular. Therefore, the earlier mentioned solution appears to be the most appropriate one.