More and more people these days work harder and longer hours and have no time for family life and friends. What are the causes in your opinion for this? How is it affecting family life and society as a whole?

People nowadays are dedicating more time and energy to their workplaces, which reduce their time for their loved ones. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this and the impacts of the movement.

There are two main explanations why workers are more dilligent and work more hours than the past. The first cause is that the labor market has become increasingly competitive in recent years. Given the applications of new technological breakthroughs, working individuals are at greater risk of being eliminated from their positions. If people do not enhance their productivity and dedication to their jobs, they will be replaced with younger job holders, who are more tech-savvy and familiar with using state-of-the-art equipment or software. The upsurge in cost of living is another contributor to the increase of working hours and effort of wage-earners. The quality of products and services has witnessed significantly improvement. This goes hand in hand with the price of the offerings. This means that people have to spend more money to buy goods that makes them invest more resources to receive additional income.

The shift in people working time and attitude have negative implications on their family and social connections. It is thought that the phenomenon leads to less quality family time among working people. This prevents them from bonding with their loved ones and rearing their children, which deprive individuals of a sense of family solidarity. Another effect from longer working hours and hard-work is that it would discourage people to get involved in conservations with other individuals. Lack of communication is detrimental to one’s social life. Workers, who spend long hours at work would experience unsufficient time to socialize. The phenomenon in the long term would take a toll on people’s ability to maintain and establish meaningful relationships with others, as a result, people will eventually become socially isolated and even anti-social.

In sum, employees may experience deterioration of family and social relationships, which caused by competition at work and changes in material wealth in modern society.