University students should spend time on other activities instead of studying. Agree/disagree?

Universities play an integral part to the academic and career progress of students. While people argue that university students should pay attention to study, others believe that children should join in other activities as well. I somewhat side with the idea that the students should take part in activities after school time, as it provides them with many merits, albeit few disadvantages.

The first reason why I advocate to this view is that students can equip themselves with hands-on experience. By working part-time jobs, or projects that are relevant to their professions, students can learn actual lessons, and know-how, which may open many employment opportunities for them when they enter the labor market. This is because employers have a tendency to value more highly candidates with actual knowledge than those with just university degree.

Another explanation for my support of non-curricular activities is that they can widen students' social circle. If university learners are able to attend groups, or organisations with like-minded people, the students stand a higher chance of establishing meaningful relationships with them. Being sociable not only relieves them of the feeling of loneliness but gives them a sense of fulfillment.

Admittedly, apart from benefits, there are drawbacks associated with activities outside universities. This especially the case for entertainments that contain either no educational values or meaningful social interactions such as playing games, alcohol consumption, and anti-social acts. If young minds spend a long time invloving in the leisure activities, their mental and physical health may be placed at risk.

In sum, I some what agree with the view that students in universities should spend less time learning, while increasing time for other pursuits. After-school work, social groups supply them with valuable knowledge and relationships.