More and more people think there is no need for printed paper newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that printed paper newspapers do not have a place in today’s world anymore. In my opinion, while online newspapers definitely have more advantages over paper ones, the latter are still necessary.

On the one hand, there are a lot of advantages in using online newspapers. There are three main reasons for this. First, online newspapers have become easier to reach today, as they are all over the Internet and all required to access them is a smartphone or a computer, which most people have nowadays. Second, being on the Internet gives online newspapers a big advantage in updating speed. As it does not require printing or transportation like printed ones, publishing new news will cost less and obviously be faster. Finally, this does not require paper to print on, so it will definitely save trees and, consequently, contribute to the protection of the environment. It does have some disadvantages, such as the possibility of fake news, but this can be prevented with stricter supervision.

On the other hand, printed paper newspapers still have values in today’s society. Not everyone has the chance to own a smartphone or a computer, or even has access to Internet, so printed paper newspapers are the only way to bring news to these people. Moreover, reading paper newspapers is a hobby of many people, especially the elderly, as they are used to them when they were younger. In addition, with the similarities to reading books, reading printed newspapers trains people on their book reading skill, which will obviously help them at some point in their life.

In conclusion, I think that while online newspapers have lots of advantages over printed ones, the latter definitely still have place in today’s society.