More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items with famous brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, the idea of spending more money on famed brands has become a prevalent and publicly recognized phenomenon. Although the change in the expenditure of the people appears apprehensible, the positive side of this trend is eclipsed by its negative aspects.

There are compelling reasons why consumers purchase these goods. Firstly, the rapid development of economy and personal income led to the satisfaction for owning first-class brand’s products to meet people's high demands and also to show off a joint role in the surge of the luxury market. For example, wearing a dress from a famous designer label such as Gucci is considered as that the buyers recently in upper-class, or at least they are aware of being updated to the current modern items. Secondly, as important brands are known for their high-quality products and reliability, the consumers tend to favor them over regular companies. Apple is considered an outstanding company which has successfully built a community of billions of fans thus new smartphone users are likely to choose an Apple one and they are rarely unsatisfied with these upper-class products.

In terms of this phenomenon, there are two-sided effects. On the one hand, from the macro-scope, the increasing purchase of famous brand products can stimulate the economy and create employment opportunities for developing countries where labor is relatively cheaper. For instance, the US electronics brand Apple cooperates with the Taiwan factory Foxconn to make products, positively influencing the local economy to some extent. On the other hand, running after branded goods may add extra burden on people in daily lives and greatly reduce their living standards. Furthermore, driving by the motivation of showing off, it will exacerbate consumers’ sense of vanity and chasing for windy satisfaction instead of self-development.

In conclusion, it is reasonable to state that negative aspect of following having famous products outweigh its positive side. However, every consumer should according to their practical situations to choose goods, following the trend blindly is inadvisable.