Nowadays, it is popular to go to colleges and universities abroad, which is a highly controversial issue among students and their parents. There is no doubt that choosing to study abroad is extremely beneficial and its advantages outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are a plenty of advantages of choosing to study overseas. Firstly, students become more familiar with the new cultures, which is crucial in the modern global world and has a huge impact on being a global person. For instance, when students come to Turkey, they can get familiar with the Turkish cuisine and taste the local foods, which would be a breathtaking experience. These types of changes may enlarge their knowledge about the kitchen and perspective of food. Secondly, being abroad can offer the expansion of social and professional networks, which is vital in a professional career via international contacts. For example, people can get job offers more easily when they have an international background and a network of social connections.

On the other hand, studying abroad may bring about some difficulties, which can be harmful and destructive. One problem is the cost of going abroad to study can be too high for the average citizen. For instance, in some country accommodation and tuition fee may be as high as the minimum wage of that country. Another drawback is associated with that students may experience culture shock and adaptation issues, which is quite common among newbies. The culture and the conditions of the country where they study may be different to their own culture or life styles and these differences may cause students to feel alienated.

In conclusion, while studying abroad brings about some disadvantages in terms of high cost of education and culture shock, it proves to be beneficial for students since it enables students to become more familiar with new cultures and expand their social and professional networks.