More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

It is argued that today a large number of students are moving abroad to study at colleges and universities, but do the advantages of this experience outbalance the drawback? This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of studying in foreign countries and whether it is a good choice.

In the first place, among all the benefits that come from moving away from home, the most relevant is the opportunity to learn a different language, most of the time English and/or Spanish/Chinese/Japanese. This chance offers young students a better position in the job market, not only because they are multilingual, but also because they learned to live and adapt to a different culture. For example, those who decide to fly to China or Japan from western countries have to learn how to fit into that totally new and sometimes opposite way of living. As a result, young adults become more and more open-minded, and when they go back to the countries they grew up in they bring a breath of fresh air, instantly standing out between their peers.

If taken disadvantages into consideration, money cannot be excluded from the list. Unfortunately, not every young adult can afford tuition abroad, and for those who do not have access to scholarships, the scholar fees can be too costly. Also, being far away from home can sometimes turn into a big drawback for those students who might go through a tough moment. Consequently, sometimes college kids need to balance 1+ jobs during weeknights to pay off their tuition fees, and this can lead to fewer hours dedicated to their studies. As a result, young adults who studied in foreign countries find themselves with poor education and/or a large college debt to pay off.

In conclusion, studying abroad can be an outstanding opportunity for those who can afford it, because it will leave them with so many doors opened for their careers and future, but the economic weight of international schooling should never be outlooked.