More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, an increasing number of students choose to study abroad. However, whether that choice is a clever decision is a highly controversial issue. My view is that studying abroad has more benefits than drawbacks.

First, it is obvious that, foreign colleges and universities provide better education environment. Overseas students can study in prestigious institutions which have expert lecturers and modern facilities. Secondly, foreign student can easily master their language skills. Because they have a good chance to communicate with native speakers and immersing themselves with real situations. Finally, it is a fact that in certain countries, its global certifications help students open door to better future job opportunities and thus higher salary.

That is not to say that the choice of studying overseas have no disadvantage. Of course, when living in unfamiliar countries, they must stand cultural shock. It is hard for them to manage with new lifestyles and to separate from important connections in their lives such as family and friends. Unless having strong will, they are driven to depression and giving up. Another of drawback, students get from studying abroad is expensive tuition fee. Due to exchange rate difference, the cost in foreign country is much higher than local country.

Although there are many problems, students have to experience, I believe that the benefits are worthy. It is a worth pursing higher education in developed countries.