More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

There are more and more people pursuing higher education in developed countries. Whether this trend brings in benefits more than drawbacks is highly controversial. In this essay, this issue is going to be discussed.

There are some pros that students can gain from studying abroad in developed countries. Firstly, they have access to available educational facilities which are absent from their own countries such as fully-equiped laboratory, modern library, and excellent books. Thanks to this, students can easily broaden their knowledge. Secondly, they get a chance to master language skills as being exposed to multicultural environment in which various languages are used. By talking to native speakers and blending in with the locals in everyday activities, they are taking five-star language courses totally free of charge. Thirdly, it cannot be denied that qualifications one gets from a pretigious university in a developed country will open door to better job opportunities. It is because they are globally recognized and backed up by lecturers who are experts in their fields. As it can be seen, there are several benefits of taking higher courses in developed countries.

On the other hand, there are some cons that students should take into consideration. Because of exchange rate discrepancy (word accuracy), overseas courses often cost an arm and a leg. They are so expensive that students’ families have no choice but to take out all savings to afford it. Besides, hardly can anyone avoid cultural shock when studying in a totally different country. They do not only lose the connections with family and friends but also struggle with a new world independently.

Although there are many drawbacks of studying overseas, the benefits it brings to students are worthy enough for them to trade off.