more and more students choose to go to another country for their higher education. Do you think the benefits outweigh the problems associated with it?

It is undeniable that there is an unceasing increase in number of students who want to pursue their higher education in foreign countries. While the disadvantages of studying abroad might impede them, however, I believe that the advantages would outstrip.

On the one hand, students need to face a number of problems during the oversea period. One of the biggest obstacle might be language barrier. Despite of having language certificates like IELTS or TOEFL, students still find difficulties to adapt immediately with local accent, hence, it will engender troubles in social conversation and lectures. Another problem of heading overseas is that students have to do everything by themselves. All housework including cooking, cleaning and paying bills need to be done while they also cope with a large amount of homework from the university. Moreover, living alone in an unfamiliar culture can cause homesickness and depression which may distract students from concentrating on their studies.

On the other hand, studying abroad would help students acquire a wide range of benefits. First, foreign institutions may offer better courses than student’s own country. They will have limitless opportunities to interact with teachers who are experts in their fields in a prestigious university. Therefore, academic qualifications gained abroad can open the door to successful career path. Second, overseas students are exposed to different cultures and customs, and there are no way better than that to broaden their horizons. Due to the fact that students live alone, a variety of practical skills might be obtained, so they would be more independent and have all necessities to become a global citizen.

In conclusion, albeit heading oversea is an arduous process for students chasing the higher education, the values of being abroad are very rewarding to take into their consideration.