More and more students choose to go to another country for their higher education. Do you think the benefits outweigh the problems associated with it?

Nowadays, studying abroad has become more and more popular among the students who want to pursue academic education. In my opinion, while this trend causes some problems for foreign learners, I believe that studying in another country actually bring a lot more benefits.

To begin with, several issues may occur when people choose to stay in another country for higher education. The first and utmost problem that many students are facing when they approach new learning environment is the difference in culture and lifestyle. Many newcomers find it difficult to socialize with the local students, which usually leads to disappointment and depression in the first several months. In addition, language barrier is another difficulty for foreign students. It seems that many individuals cannot fully understand and comprehend the lectures, and fail their examinations consequently regardless to any language preparation efforts at home.

On the positive perspective, the benefits that students gain are far greater than the hardship they are dealing with when studying in another country. Firstly, while it is quite difficult at first, the situation will get better if students show persistence and determination. After some time adapting to the new learning environment, the students’ confidence, which is the most important and valuable quality for future career, will be improved significantly. Secondly, studying abroad give people enormous opportunities to practice their second language. The continuous exposure to native speakers gives students an immersive experience to vastly improve their language proficiency.

In conclusion, while several problems may occur when students choose to study in another country, I believe the benefits this trend offers definitely outweighs its associated issues.