Besides a lot of advantages, some people believe that the Internet creates many problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The Internet has brought a myriad of benefits to humans in today’s world. However, some people say that many problems have also occurred due to the advent of the Internet. In my opinion, I completely agree with this belief.

To begin with, a large number of online users are exposed to scams and annoying advertisements. When using the Internet, even with the maximum security, individuals’ personal credentials such as email addresses and bank account numbers are still in a great danger of being hacked or shared with others. This private information will be used for phishing activities and making fraudulent online purchases or transactions. Indeed, the US government has reported that over 20 percent of online shoppers got their credit card numbers stolen by cybercriminals in 2017. Furthermore, the internet has become a tool for companies to annoyingly promote or introduce their products. These days, online advertising is extremely disturbing and pops up even more frequently compared to television commercials.

Besides adults, children are also negatively affected by excessive use of the Internet and inappropriate online contents. Research shows that an enormous number of young people are facing physical health problems due to long-time exposure to the Internet. In fact, more and more children have eye-related diseases and serious obesity after a long period of using computers and other gadgets to browse the Internet. In addition, youngsters are influenced by bad online videos and footage and negatively change their behaviors. For example, many young criminals admit that they have adapted their misconceptions from watching youtube videos and committed crimes.

In conclusion, I assert that the Internet has created many severe problems for both adults and the young despite its merits.