Some people believe school children should be given multiple short vacations while others believe they should get one long vacation. Give advantages of both and your point of view.

Opinions differ as to whether schools should split the children’s vacation into multiple short ones or continue to give single but long period. I believe offering short vacations is the better idea.

It is understandable why people say that children should be given one long vacation. One reason is that pupils will have more time for their activities seemlessly without worrying about their studying. Whether children choose to spend this time with their classmates at schools or with their family at home, they are assured a long period to enjoy themselves without the interruption of homeworks and assignments from teachers. This also allows the young to prepare thoroughly for the next academic year. In Vietnam, for example, most public and private schools grant their students a 3-month vacation in the summer, in which children use for relaxation and preparation for the next year.

However, I side with those who think that schools should divide a long vacation into smaller chunks during the semesters. One reason to support my standpoint on this matter is that, with short term vacations, pupils will be able to recharge their energy for studying one lesson after another. Knowing that continuous studying is fairly exhausting for most children, short vacations help them organize what is learnt to absorb new information in class. Furthermore, children who have a 3-week break at the end of the year are more likely to remember last year’s lessons. Because the lessons of one grade is usually linked to the previous, children will be able to learn faster with a reduced revision time.

In conclusion, I assert that short vacations during an academic year is more beneficial than one long vacation for the school children although both have their own advantages. After all, the purpose of either option is to offer the pupils a time for recharging themselves.