As more and more students enter universities, academic qualifications are becoming devalued. To get ahead in many professions, more than one degree is now required and in future, it is likely that people will take a number of degree courses before even starting work. This is an undesirable situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is becoming more common for students to obtain more than one degrees from universities in order to compete with the others in the job market as academic qualifications are thought to have less value than they used to because of the overloaded state of students in tertiary education. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this notion as employers’ main criterion is the prove of candidates’ competence, not the number of degrees.

The first principle to remember when finding a job is that new graduates have to demonstrate their skills and abilities acquired from higher education in a convincible way to impress the employers, which is the most crucial thing that many job hunters forget these days. Ten years ago, university scholars did not care much about how many courses and certificates they possessed after finishing their study. What the old-day students after was filling up their pool of knowledge and useful qualities that could actually put in practice in real life. That was the reason why most students in the past obtained only one degree or even none and still secured multiple successful careers. So, having more than one degree will not show that people are qualified for a certain job.

In contrast to having an in-depth understanding of one single profession, studying a number of degree courses could actually be detrimental to graduate when they apply for an occupation. Many people think that inserting numerous certifications in their CV could polish their name in front of the employers. However, this tendency seems to be a backfire. Job candidates have reported that their scheduled interview did not go well because the interviewer questioned deep knowledge that they did not pay attention to in college for they had to spend time for other courses. This is why many job hunters lose their opportunities although they are confident about their multiple degree certificates.

In conclusion, I want to restate that the number of degrees is not a guarantee of one’s career because employers only look for those who are competent to finish the assigned tasks in their company.