As more and more students enter universities, academic qualifications are becoming devalued. To get ahead in many professions, more than one degree is now required and in future it is likely that people will take a number of degree courses before even starting work. This is an undesirable situation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, the increasing provision of education seats in universities has undermined the demands of single degree holders. Experts throughout the developing and developed worlds have debated whether studying in multiple degrees before working life is a negative development to our society or not. This essay will assert the notion that the desire of graduating with more than one discipline has detrimental effects to both society and individuals.

To begin with, acquiring multiple disciplines to commence work might hinder the social development. More specifically, compared to those who acquire one degree, advanced learners who goal for being qualified by multiple disciplines necessitate longer time to graduate, resulting in a shortfall of workforce. In fact, by studying the figures provided by Hong Kong University in past decades, the average school life of their students who applied for single major discipline lasted for 3 years, whereas the majority of double degree holders consumed approximately 5.5 years. Furthermore, instead of repaying the society, learners might also occupy the seats that are allocated for junior learners and are likely to consume more resources in research. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that this phenomenon puts pressure on our economy.

Another implication that cannot be neglected is the ensuing working pressure. While degree holders of multiple disciplines can bear extraordinary jobs that are intolerable to their counterparts of single degree, they often find longer working hours and unstable life schedule in these jobs. For instance, graduates with knowledge from both musics and engineerings are more suitable to create an online music platform, yet they might have to accept the responsibility of both technical programming and business modelling, resulting in the fact that they often need to work overtime. Meanwhile, they are likely to devote more time and effort than their peers on business rather than family, because they believe that they are the minority who can fix the problems perfectly. Thus, instead of enriching one's life, the additional dedication increases the likelihood of parents' relationship problem.

In conclusion, the potential drawbacks of obtaining multiple disciplines prior to work is substantial to both societal development and personal growth. Having said that, given the keen competition in labour markets worldwide, it is predicted that graduates with multiple degrees will become increasingly popular in the foreseeable future.