Organized tours to remote areas and community are becoming more and more popular. Is this a positive or negative development for local people and the environment?

It has become more common for tourists to book organized trips to remote areas these days. While tourism brings a problem to the local environment, I believe that the local people will be incredibly beneficial.

To begin with, the environment of destination areas could face great damage caused by tourism. With the increasing amount of traffic, these areas will certainly suffer from severe air pollution originated by the exceeded emissions from travelers’ vehicles. For example, aboriginals living on Hoang Lien Son mountain are currently enduring extremely polluted air which has been radically caused by the raising amount of gas emitted by the tourists’ motorbikes.

Fortunately, the local people will receive great benefits and the environment issue could also be addressed effectively when the tourism industry grows. When travel agents discover a potential tourist attraction, they will come with suggestions to assist the locals in promoting their traditional businesses in order to attract travelers. Thus, more employment opportunities will be made available to the local residents and subsequently enhance their living condition by earning more money from the tourists. Moreover, after these areas become widely known by travelers, more tourists will come and the local people can have a chance to approach new lifestyles from the outside world. This allows those who never go out of such areas in their entire life to expand their knowledge absolutely free of charge. Lastly, the substantial profit gaining from travelers could also be used to hire environment experts to find solutions and ameliorate the pollution in these areas.

In conclusion, although there is a drawback when tourism reaches remote areas, I believe the merits this industry offers are far more beneficial to the locals and their environment.