As people consider the Internet as an essential part of their life, they tend to even show personal information such as an address, telephone number, etc,… on these platforms. Despite some advantages that may derive from this arrangement, it is felt that publicising these sorts of information is predominantly disadvantageous to an individual. This will be proven by looking at how intrusive and risky it could be.

For one, even though putting personal information online makes people’s profiles more reliable, there could be some disturbance from that. For example, one of my friends said they regret posting personal information on the Internet because she had experienced sexual harassment via phone. Moreover, the feeling of being followed is uncomfortable at all. My friend’s experience clearly shows that showing details about private life is unpleasant and annoying.

In addition to this, these actions make ways for cybercrime, which deliberately steals personal information or bank details. They illegally use personal information as a means of providing them with money. For instance, a public figure has quickly become a victim of hackers when posting bank account numbers on social media. Sadly, he virtually lost all the money inside the account due to his blind faith in the virtual world. As this story illustrates, the disadvantages of publicising personal information online are enormous.

To conclude, despite the advantages of increasing reliability and convenience, showing private information has many more drawbacks than favourable points. It is hoped that an individual will think carefully before sharing any information relating to privacy.