Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work To what extent do you agree

Many people claim that the government ought to spend money to keep artists continuing their job because this job is considered a low-paid job. While I agree they should receive financial support from the authorities, it is better when these supports come from other successful artists.

There are some reasons why the government should spend money on supporting people who work in art. Firstly, arts job are underestimated by many. In the modern world, since people tend to focus on the technology and business, they would probably underrate works of art, even some people consider them as useless things. Secondly, without income support, many artists will quit their job. After all, artists have to make a living; hence, they will choose other highly-paid jobs rather than their dream job if they do not have enough money for their fundamental needs. Finally, arts contributes tremendous values to the culture of a city or a country. Thus, it is reasonable for the government to support artists as a way to maintain and enhance arts industry.

On the other hand, artists’ income support should be given by other artists who succeed in their carers. It is not true that all artists have low income. In fact, there are plenty of people who are internationally famous in arts and they earn more money than any well-known professor or businessman. Therefore, themselves rather than the government should contribute their money to help their colleagues.

In conclusion, both the government and successful artists should support other artists who have financial problems.