Most countries spend lots of money on education as they start to recognise its importance. In your opinion, which two of the following subjects are the most important for your people and which one is the least important?

Subjects:

Literature

mathematics

economics

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the curriculum that schools provide for the students. However, whether these educational service providers should give priority to what specific disciplines has caused heated debate. My view is that, we should mainly concentrate on these two of subjects, Mathematics and Economics, on the other hand, pay the least attention to literature subject for the following reasons.

First, It is no doubt that Mathematics and Economics have a compound impact on the development of both learners and society, stimulating the brain through logical thinking and problems solving and boosting the social development thanks to the educated knowledge of economics respectively. Moreover, we can’t refuse the great significance of Maths study when this subject is compulsory in all the countries that have progressive education and it is taught to people from kindergarten to even university. Besides, Economics plays an irreplaceable role in education especially for those who working in trading and industrial field. However, even you are not an economist, you must also have little acquaintance with economics of your country and world, it would be useful in some particular circumstances. Therefore, It’s crucial to take into consideration the influence of these two branches of study.

In addition, It would be better if we reduce the curriculum of theoretical discipline like literature at school, simply because this subject required the students to learn by heart a lot, even some knowledge of it is not necessary in daily life. For example, in my country, whenever i have literature classes,one thing popping up in my mind is that “Oh! It’s learn by rote’s time”. I learn about poems, novels, literary works and authors... but actually, what i do is to memorize them, that’s kinda boring and impractical. What we did learn at school should be applicable to the reality, to our future career and thus, not only will the graduate become more competitive in the job market but also do the social functions well.

That is not to say that literature subject should be completely removed from the school curriculum. There are, of course, students interested in literary theory and they will later become writers, poets or literary scholars who will make greater contribution to the literature of our country. But unfortunately, these people are few.

In conclusion, That the major disciplines at schools should be Mathematics and Economics will promote students’ intellectual development, and simultaneously impart social knowledge that is useful in life. Meanwhile, we must not underestimate the role of literature in spite of its boring nature. Only by doing so can the education of the country maintain dynamic and sustainable development.