Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, environmental problem has been one of the most controversial issue that almost every country is facing. While many people believe that the government and big firms solely create the positive impact on the environment, i strongly agree with a view that every single citizen could also make contributions to the protect their own surroundings.

First, It is no doubt that human activities have the greatest influence on the environment throughout the history and environmental protection is a long-term process. This means that only by raising the public’s awareness of the happening situation can we prevent the degradation of the environment. Therefore, environmental conservation is duty and obligation of each person towards what he or she has caused, even government or any large corporations could not themselves solve the problem without any support from the community.

Moreover, based on public’s needs and behaviors, the government and companies then carry out suitable policies and strategies to meet their customers. For example, if everyone boycotts throw-away products like plastic bottles, then all the company manufacturing such products will switch to eco-friendly alternatives to compete with other opponents in the market.

That is not to say that government and big firms cannot do such positive things to the environment. They are pioneers who will guide people to go the right way. Indeed, the government can enact laws, introduce nature conservation programs , the companies can promote green products to change the consumers’s habits. However, to achieve the success, they need every citizen’s comments and assistance.