In most countries, young people form a large proportion of those who are unemployed. Why this is the case, and

what can be done to solve the problem?

There is no escape from the fact that these days a magnificent proportion of unemployed population in our society have been formed by juveniles. This phenomenon may lead to youngsters to get emotionally disturbed and suffer from deteriorations on their mental health in long term. There are some causes attributable to this problem, each of which requires appropriate response from government and society as a whole.

Firstly, the need of sufficient and practical skills seems to encourage employers to employ more experienced and skillful employees rather than young candidates. It seems that the didactic system have to be responsible for educating juveniles the marketplace-related subjects as well as equipping them with a more well-rounded perspective on the market. Doing so would help young people to better fit the requirements of the society.

Secondly, a myriad of juveniles do not possess an appropriate insight about their own abilities and fields of interest. So they face a great deal of diverse opportunities and they would be helpless in picking a suitable job satisfying their objectives. It is advised that young people consult with psychologists in order to find their way and choose the best option for their future career.

Finally, some youngsters approach their job interviews as they are quite experienced and skillful and demand exorbitant salaries. Although having academic educational degrees, they must accept the fact that the marketplace needs both educated and also experienced workers. Hence, it would be better if the young job seekers lower their expectations and accept, somehow, decent jobs as their first employment.

In conclusion, the high percentage of unemployed juveniles has become a concern in today’s society. However, some measures such as those suggested above should be taken in order to help minimize the problem.