Most medical doctors want to work in cities where they will make a lot of money. Yet in many rural areas there are not enough doctors. What are the reasons for this problem? How can it be solved?

Over the past decades, there has been a worrying phenomenon that the lack of medical personnel in the countryside is significantly more adverse because most doctors would like to be employed by hospitals in the city which commit them more earnings. This has entailed detrimental negative impacts on the stability and balance of the national medical workforce. This essay will examine some major contributing to this trend and propose possible solutions to combat it.

One of the main culprits resulting in this common trend would lie on the fact that the salary and benefit packages in urban hospitals are far more attractive than rural areas. People might have the tendency to choose a generously-paid job after occupying themselves several years on researching and having hard work done in the university, and medical students are not the exception. As a result, they would prefer contributing to city hospitals, where the amount of patients is enormous, which means doctors could get a higher salary in return. Another factor adding to this issue would be related to the disparity in living standard between cosmopolitan cities and rural provinces. Being a doctor is a demanding profession, hence those working in this field desire for a deluxe lifestyle including housing, car,entertainment facilities or other services, which is not always available in the rustic areas.

To resolve this problem, there are several measures that could be offered. One of the most prominent steps would be that fringe benefits for doctors working in rural hospitals should be enhanced by the government. To be more detailed, bonuses could be rewarded for fresh graduated medical students if they chose to devote themselves to those institutes. Family insurance might be another approach to support this solution because when medical doctors feel they are considered important, they would apply their whole minds to the duty. In addition, workforce distribution should be taken into consideration. This means not all the doctors graduating from medical schools can work in their favorable places. It strongly depends on their academic and practical skills.

In conclusion, factors stemming from preference to work at hospitals in town have led to the shortage of medical staff in the countryside. Yet, if the government and individuals share collective responsibilities, it will become possible to offer feasible solutions to tackle the problem.