Nowadays, people around the globe are having higher longevity. There seems to be two main causes involved, and for the society this can be a negative development. The reasons for which will be enumerated in this essay.

Firstly, one of the main factor contributing to this trend is the improvements in in better health care facilities. Today in this 21st century technology is so advanced that there is a cure for almost all the diseases present in the world. Furthermore, nowadays better health care facilities are available to almost all the people, comparetively at a lower cost, and procedures such as heart and liver transplant help people to live longer. For example, in Switzerland an average person dies at an age of 110, this is due to the universal health care system provided there. Another major factor is the consumption of healthy diet by people. Today, most people are going for protein rich foods rather than consuming convenience food items. This has reduced problems such as obesity and inadequate development, helping people to live longer.

Secondly, although higher longevity is beneficial, it can have a negative impact on the society, especially on the younger generation. This means that young people have to bear the burden for an increasingly elderly population, compelling them to pay higher taxes, work longer hours, possibly forcing them to migrate to other countries where this pressure is lower. The effect of this is the 'brain drain' situation, where young and ambitious people leave their countries for better living prospects. Japan is a shining example for this. Studies have found out that due to higher longevity of the elderly population, Japanese youngsters are moving out of the country.

In conclusion, improvements in health care facilities and consumption of healthy diet are the main causes of higher longevity among people. This is a negative development because it affects the younger generation of a nation.