Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs. How true is this statement? What influences people when they buy food?

The continuous advancement in food technology has given consumers a variety of choice when it comes to food consumption.

The opinion that most people only pay attention to food cost when doing the groceries is partly true. In fact, students, low-income workers or underclass families have the tendency to tighten their budget. Therefore, purchasing low-cost food is the best way to make both ends meets. On the flip side, it is also noticeable that people apart from these categories are willing to pay higher for foods, since part of the food cost is the freshness of the ingredients and the quality of the food. A typical example for this is the growing interest in consuming organic foods, which is more expensive but at the same time claim to provide a healthier well-being.

Besides, people also take the other factors with reference to dietary choices into consideration including: palatability and time constraints. It is undeniable that each of us experiences different pleasure when eating a particular food, this has led to our various preferences in food choices that affect our shopping habits. Considering busy workers or whose jobs required plenty of time, they prefer food that is not only nutritious but can also be eaten quickly. As can be seen, sometimes people do not take price into account concerning food choices.

In conclusion, the idea that price is the only matter that people take into consideration when purchasing food is not totally true since there is a variety of other factors that influence people’s food choice.