Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs.

How true is this statement? What influences people when they buy food?

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that instead of worrying about the procedures to produce food, people only pay attention to their price. Personally, I totally concur with this statement and the following paper will provide analysis on my viewpoint as well as outlining factors that impact buying decisions of food shoppers.

The first reason why consumers are more prone to price consideration rather than quality check when it comes to buying food is that there are some families suffering from financial burdens. To exemplify, after the covid-19 pandemic, many nations have fallen in economic downturn which means that it might be necessary for citizens to calculate every expenditure. As a result, those who are in the case of financial crisis tend to make a first look at the cost to have the minimum spending on food because there could be more important costs of living to care about. The second driver for the act of being not interested in food production is about not having enough time. Take white-collar workers as an example. These people may spend half of their day being at the offices to work industriously on tons of tasks assigned. Therefore, they have no choice but to get foods on the streets to fill their stomach or place an order from delivery services and apparently, reviewing the nutrition contents or the ingredient table is not their priorities.

Apart from the price of food, there are still others contributors influencing food buyers. The first factor to be mentioned is advertisement. This is because there are many promotions broadcasting products with vivid and fascinating designs making some foods more desirable than others. Hence, a large number of viewers who are drawn to this might be persuaded to put those items in their cart. Secondly, food origin is another concerning factor in addition to price. For example, in Vietnam, especially young generation, they have a tendency to consume foods originating from foreign countries such as Western or European nations to diversify their food consumption options. Thus, payment seems not to be these individuals’ thoughts but the demand to try various tastes, which is trendy in the lifestyle of modern people.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that due to being affected by the decrease of the economy along with having less time to learn more about the ways food is produced, price is the most notable feature for customers to care about. However, advertisements and food origin are the other attributes when it comes to food purchasing in addition to price.