Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs.

How true is this statement? What influences people when they buy food?

One school of thought argues that contemporary people worldwide are more careless regarding the manufacture of food, while costs play an integral part in people’s attention. Personally, I strongly opine that numerous reasons can be explained for the truth of this statement and other elements can be attributed to the tendency of buying food.

On the one hand, there are various advantages to buying inexpensive foodstuffs. For one, the expenditure per month of people has plummeted, which can comfort low-paid workers in the corner of food. Secondly, we can minimize the waste of food products thanks to the proliferation of cheap food that is contributed to the eco-friendly. For example, the consumption of food is increasing rapidly in recent years, meanwhile, there is a significant reduction of wasted food because of the downward trend of those products that allows people with low wages per month to purchase them.

On the other hand, other factors that customers care about when shopping for food. Besides the essential role of prices, the freshness, the origin and the production of food are extremely affected by the tendency of those people to shop for food of those people. First of all, foods, especially vegetables, are often being purchased when they are still fresh, and the freshness of products can obviously appeal to most people. Moreover, manufacturing ways have a great influence on the quality of food. For instance, typically some organic foods without using pesticides or even fertilizers, are considered the food of choice for consumers in order to have good health. Last but not least, the origin is another element that influences the consumption of food products by people.

In conclusion, I still believe that prices have mostly changed the consumers’ decision in buying food but there are numerous factors that are being paid attention by people when pay to obtain foodstuffs.