Some people think that technological development can reduce crime, while others think that it would encourage crime. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In this day and age, it is generally believed that the advancement of technology can minimize the criminal rate. However, others are opposed this statement as it makes the illegal actions to be more severe. The following paper will look at both sides of the problem as well as giving my own opinion.

On the one hand, technological devices such as cameras and alarming, which are security systems has helped people to track the crimes on street more effectively. For example, when there is a robber on the street which police may find it hard to track and arrest them, they could follow the footages being saved in the memory system of the camera to identify the stealer. Therefore, this would reinforce the safety for its citizens as well as warning those who have intention to get involved in illegal actions. Furthermore, with the application of fingerprint in accessing organizations, this could prevent strangers or even terrorists to enter the places due to destructive intention. Taking America as an example, this country was terrorized because of having no protective procedures leading to many terrorists entering the organizations and bombed causing numerous deceases. As a result, if registered fingerprints are used in the security system, strangers will not be able to enter the places as well as having no granted rights to access certain database of them.

On the other hand, technological advancement is also believed to increase crime rate. The first reason is that with the widespread of the internet. Many individuals can use it to make transactions in terms of trading weapons. To illustrate, inhabitants residing in America are allowed to use weapons freely if they have licenses. Therefore, they are more likely to take advantages of this to earn more profit, especially wrongdoers. In order to reduce this issue, governments need to take action as they are the top managerial of the country. In particular, national government should impose regulations to prohibit its dwellers to use weapon except emergency. Consequently, people are more likely to be protected and have a safer life.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that although technological development can alleviate the crime rate, there are still some negative aspects of this phenomenon which require governments to be responsible for.