Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagreee with this opinion?

Some people believe that we no longer remember the original meaning o festivals. While I believe that enjoyment seems to be priority during festival times, I disagree that people have forgotten what these festivals mean.

In each country, there are some religious and traditional festivals. For example, in my country Iran, we have a famous religious festival which is called Ashora Tasoa. In this festival people are mourning for Emam Hossein and his companions. To held this festival, all streets and public places are decorated by black cloth. All Iranian people know about the sad story behind this festival, so for respecting their Emam and keeping this festival, rich individuals give vow to charities and try to help poor people. The historical story of this festival is told every year in order to transfer to next generation. Also, there are some non-religious festivals which are considered as opportunities to have fun. For instance, Chahar shanbe sori celebration. In this festival, people gather to gather to enjoy themselves. They make fire and watch bonfire display.

For several reasons, I disagree that the underlying original meaning of these festivals has been forgotten. Firstly, in my experience, in many countries, children are taught about the background of their festivals and most times they are forced to memorize them to take exams and answer some questions about different aspects of these celebrations. Also, parents play an important role for keeping informed their children about the story behind these festivals. In my country, parents are loyal to their culture and traditional festivals, as they think that they are a part of their identity and cultural heritage. They took their children to their festivals in order to show them how these ceremonies are held. Additionally, many documentaries and movies are created about these festivals to increase the knowledge of people and attract many tourists to participate to help the economy of the host country.

In conclusion, in my view, it is true that many festivals are celebrated for the sake of enjoyment, however, I claim that people are still aware of the reasons for festivals.